The Surreal life: Being a first time mom….whoa!


 “Lo, children are an heritage of the LORD: and the fruit of the womb is his reward”

– Psalm 127

I am still in shock and awe… I can’t believe I am a mommy! There are really no words to say how happy I am to have a beautiful baby boy to cuddle and hold. Well, let me introduce him to you and give you a synopsis of how my beautiful son was brought into the world.

On June 27th 2011 at 4am, Mathieu Joel Walker was born. The first thing he did was look me right in the eyes, an he didnt cry at all. It was like he knew everything was going to be alright. Because we never found out the sex of the baby, the anticipation was driving us up a wall, but we were happy to bring Little Mathieu into the world.

When we got home, the real work began. A lot of women talk about how emotional they were. I think my emotions were about a 5.5 on a scale of 1 to 10. I had a little bit of experience with children from working in my church nursery, but this was different; this was my son, and I was responsible for him in every way. I think that was just an overwhelming thought. At any rate, my husband was a great help, and as friends came over, brought food and gifts, I started to fall into a groove. My husband cooked and cleaned while I took care of the baby and myself. I really believed this strengthened our marriage, we had to work as a team, and think about each other and the baby, not just ourselves.

Now two months later, I am enjoying my son more and more. His smile, his cooing, and even his cry. It just all makes me so full and grateful that God gave me the ability to have children. I truly thank God for that gift, and will spend the rest of my days raising Mathieu up and ministering to him about God’s goodness.

About daranichole

Lover of Christ, Wife, mother, author, and entrepreneur! I have a heart for women!

Posted on September 2, 2011, in marriage & Family. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Aww this really touched me. So happy to hear how blessed you and your husband are to have such a joy. Being a mommy is the ultimate best. I can’t truly say that my daughter changed my life for the better. Keep up the good work!!!

  2. Great read. I too enjoy the joys of motherhood and especially raising a son. I thank God for a Godly marriage that Isaac is growing up in and learning first hand what it means to be a man of God.

  3. Being a mother is a true blessing and can be a test of your marriage. Working together is definitely the best way to tackle parenthood.

Leave a Reply

