Backstabbers not allowed


“Thus says the Lord of hosts, Render true judgments, show kindness and mercy to one another, 10 do not oppress the widow, the fatherless, the sojourner, or the poor, and let none of you devise evil against another in your heart.” Zechariah 7:9-10

I was reading this scripture earlier today, and what stuck out to me was the part that said “And let none of you devise evil against another in your heart” The definition of devise is -to contrive, plan, or imagine.

Have you had that one person who you were angry at, and you planned how you were going to get them back? What about when your parents made you angry so you decided to purposely disobey whatever rule they had in place? What about the friend that you are jealous of, have you told all your friends how horrible her character is, or how bad of a friend she is so she doesn’t look that good in their eyes? (Hope I’m not getting to much in your business.)

At the end of the day, all of these ideas are wrong. We as christians can’t try to avenge our co-worker, ex-boyfriend, brother, or classmate because of their wrongdoings against you. The bible says clearly “Beloved, never avenge yourselves, but leave it to the wrath of God, for it is written, “Vengeance is mine, I will repay, says the Lord.” 20 To the contrary, “If your enemy is hungry, feed him; if he is thirsty, give him something to drink; for by so doing you will heap burning coals on his head.” Romans 12:19 God can and will take care of his children.

I can completely understand how people can hurt you, I have been there. From my 1st grade all the way up to 8th grade I was teased to tears because of my looks. I had to switch schools twice because the teasing was so bad. This severely effected my self esteem, and by the time I got to high school, I didn’t understand or know how beautiful I really was.

Being on facebook and just being out and about, you see so many people you went to school with, and I even had one person out of the blue apologize for how mean he was to me in elementary. I have forgiven them, but some of us out there, have not totally forgiven and let God take control. God is here to take away the pain, and that “Thing” you are holding onto is only going to hold YOU back from walking into your destiny.

If I would have made a decision to not forgive, I could still be bitter, and angry. You DONT want to carry that baggage around. Please, give your burden over to Christ and DONT let your mind devise ways to “avenge” the person who hurt you.

Love God, Trust God, Believe he is going to take care of you, and avenge your enemies. “You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies. You anoint my head with [a]oil; my [brimming] cup runs overPsalm 23:5

About daranichole

Lover of Christ, Wife, mother, author, and entrepreneur! I have a heart for women!

Posted on June 9, 2010, in Christian Lifestyle, confidence, faith, prayer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

