Overcome your fear,step into your future


What is your greatest fear? Usually when you ask someone this question, people think of a fear of heights, drowning, or some type of creature eating them alive. However, when I talk about your greatest fear, I mean, what is that one thing that you fear so much, that you put in man made barriers to keep it from getting to you?

Sometimes your man made barrier may come out as shyness for fear of people not liking what you would say, or in a form of saving money so aggressively for fear of being poor. Or how about that one friend who has a wall built up against everyone, and noone gets in? Sometimes our own defenses that we use to keep ourselves from getting hurt, can be detrimental and damaging to our future.

2 Timothy 1:7 states, God has not given us a spirit of fear, but a spirit of power, love, and of a sound mind. We as Christians have to realize, it is not our job to protect our selves from hurt, harm and danger. Once we made the decision we were going to live for Christ, we signed up for an awesome deal. In exchange for us serving God, we are saved from a burning hell, Given eternal life, and also being protected by God from the snares of the enemy.  “The name of the LORD is a strong tower; the righteous run to it and are safe.” (Proverbs 18:10) 

” Because he has set his love upon Me, therefore will I deliver him; I will set him on high, because he knows and understands My name [has a personal knowledge of My mercy, love, and kindness–trusts and relies on Me, knowing I will never forsake him, no, never].” (Psalm 91:14) The bible clearly states that the Lord WILL deliver us out of any situation that could cause us harm. We have to tear down our man made defenses, and trust God that the things that come our way, him, and his word will protect us, because our own defenses won’t stand up, but God’s word can change any circumstance.

I personally worked through a fear of people not liking me. I was teased from the 1st grade all the way up until 8th grade, and ended up transferring twice because the teasing was so bad. I was always convinced that people were talking about me behind my back. So my mechanism of defense was to show people how great of a person I was.  What I realized soon enough, was that I can’t be a people pleaser, because at the end of the day, after I put in all that work, if they still didn’t like me, God would still love me. Oftentime, it is the same with women who have been hurt by men. They put up a defense in different forms. What we have to do is search ourselves, and determine if God is truly our protector, or have we taken over, and given Jesus the passenger seat in our lives as protector.

Whatever you have been through in your life, let God remove it from your life. Some of the things we have been through are hard to get over, but us trying to protect ourselves will only put us in a worse situation. Love God, Trust God, believe he will keep you , and most of all, know that he is a not a man that he should lie.

About daranichole

Lover of Christ, Wife, mother, author, and entrepreneur! I have a heart for women!

Posted on May 22, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

