Letting go of “it”, and walking into the future


The other day I was talking with one of my girlfriends about old relationships. Discussing the “whatifs” and the “what could have beens”. It’s so funny how much you grow as an adult, and the things you did as a teenager you wish you could do over, or at least thinking of how you couldve made better decisions. Although, I believe as a teenager and a young adult, alot of the decisions I made have helped me to be the woman I am today.

A wise man wrote “I do not regard myself as having laid hold of it yet; but one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and reaching forward to what lies ahead” (Phillipian 3:13). This means a lot to me because sometimes as women or men we hold on to things; Maybe the hope of an old relationship resurrecting, the dream of being the same size we were in highschool, the betrayal that was done to us, or the loss of a parent or child.

Holding onto the past does not propel us into the future. In life, things happen that sometimes we cannot explain. Your parent may not have been in your life, or you may have grown up in a struggling household. You could have a relative who has a mental illness, or a spouse who isn’t acting appropriate. Through all of our trials and situations God is right there in the midst holding our hand.

I know it may be hard to let go of the anger, pain, or grief, I have been there, but I know that once you let go of “It”, you can start to focus on your bright future. Everything which has happened in your life has formed you and molded you to be the bright, intelligent, diligent, God fearing person you are today. God honors faithfulness and will pay you back 100 fold. everything that has tried to hold you back or keep you down hasn’t! That is a victory within itself! The same thing that you went through yesterday, was the same thing someone else went through and couldn’t get over “it”. Don’t let the feeling of “it” control you.

Today, I say, Let go of “It”. Give that pain, anger, grief, resentment, fear, or regret over to God. Tell him to take “It” away. Start to focus on the wonderful things about your life; your family, friends, your job, your loved ones, your health. God has blessed us with so many things we take for granted everyday. Give God thanks for the new start, and start to walk into the bright future that God has for you, how do I know it’s bright? Because I know who my God is, and he loves you to much to give you a life that is mediocre. “I have come that you might have life, and have it more abundantly”

Seek God, seek peace, and it will be given to you. He loves you!

About daranichole

Lover of Christ, Wife, mother, author, and entrepreneur! I have a heart for women!

Posted on May 7, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Awesome post! I love Phil 3:13. It is very important for us to press towards the new things that God has for us and to not allow the issues of the past to rule over our present! Great job lady! So proud of you!

  2. Rebecca (Becca)

    Daralynn I love this post and it’s ironic, no God at work, that led me to this site because I didn’t recognize the address but the few sentences I could read led me to look further into the post and I must say it is so appropriate for my life right now at this moment. God is such a loving Father and shows it through so many means.

    Thanks for being an obedient vessel in following His lead!

Leave a Reply

