Forgiving and not burning bridges


I am usually the type of person to not hold grudges, I just don’t feel they serve a purpose in my life, or in the life of any believer. Although, I can say that I have been in situations where I have had to remember the scriptures, and remember that God has forgiven me of my sins, which in turn means I must forgive people who do wrog things to me. Be gentle and forbearing with one another and, if one has a difference (a grievance or complaint) against another, readily pardoning each other; even as the Lord has [freely] forgiven you, so must you also [forgive] (Colossians 3:13).

Don’t get me wrong, people have talked about me behind my back, lied on me, stabbed me in the back, and done all sorts of things to knock me off my square, but my mindset is, if someone is trying so hard to distract me from being a positive influence, I must really have something powerful on the inside and I really need to focus more on developing that so I can be pleasing to God. Holding a grudge doesn’t make you the powerful one, it makes you the one holding the burden, and all that leaves you with is baggage.

God is so gracious and merciful to us everyday. We go along everyday making choices that we know aren’t always pleasing to God, we focus on ourselves sometimes more than we focus on the plan God has for us. Whether it be because we want to relax, have some fun, or just because we are running away from what God told us to do is neither here nor there, the point is, we do wrong when we know what is right, but yet and still God still takes care of us. That is some awesome love.

All God asks us to do is to seek him and be like him, forgiving that old boyfriend who cheated on you, or letting go of the anger from when your ex bestfriend lied on you. Don’t let anger, disappointment, and unforgiveness keep you from everything that God has planned for you “For if you forgive people their trespasses [their [a]reckless and willful sins, [b]leaving them, letting them go, and [c]giving up resentment], your heavenly Father will also forgive you” (Matt 6:14)

Let Jesus be your example on forgiveness. He forgave the people who abused, beat, and laughed at him. And Jesus prayed, Father, forgive them, for they know not what they do” (Luke 23:34) We have to be able to forgive those who do us wrong even if we don’t want to, we have to. Jesus loved those people who abused and beat him, he died for those people who hung him on the cross. He died for us so that we could have the opportunity to live life more abundantly.

We have to understand the bigger picture and realize that opportunities for offense are going to be ever present. Our job is to make sure that we do not offend, that we love (Like Christ) and that we remember to ultimately forgive those who hurt us. Sometimes people are hurting themselves, you never know what the situation is, just know that God loves you, and has never held anything against you. He wants you to live a prosperous and abundant life, and he wants you to have your hearts desire. Love your neighbor and pray for your enemy, God will increase your life, and heal those who seek to hurt you. God has your back, and when you walk in his ways, he will always make sure your taken care of.

About daranichole

Lover of Christ, Wife, mother, author, and entrepreneur! I have a heart for women!

Posted on May 4, 2010, in Christian Lifestyle, confidence, faith, prayer, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Amen! Another great post! That last paragraph esp. really blessed me!! Forgiveness is a must and it is not for the person who offended us, it’s for our own healing, restoration and break through.

  2. Incredibly interesting post! Honestly.

Leave a Reply

