A life long commitment


“Roll your works upon the Lord [commit and trust them wholly to Him; He will cause your thoughts to become agreeable to His will, and] so shall your plans be established and succeed” (Proverbs 16:3)

I am at this point in my life 28 years old, and for the last 6 years I have been trying to figure out my purpose and make a plan to get where I need to be. I don’t know about you, but I have made a lot of mistakes, I have been through a lot in my life, and have discovered in the process how much I have learned about who I am, and how faithful God is, even when I didn’t deserve it.

I was reading this scripture and it really appealed to me. In discovering who I am,  realizing my purpose is becoming clearer and clearer everyday. I am a Christian, and I want to write; it is my passion, I love it, and I believe that it will bring me success.  I am also learning that I need to put my best work forward, take my time, and learn the craft of writing. Sometimes I believe that we can get so caught up in being successful that we don’t take our time and develop the thing that God has put in us to do, which stifles our potential, and can keep us from reaching our full and complete destiny.

In this scripture, it says to commit your ways to the Lord; and he will establish your path. This says to me that if I learn and develop my skills, put my faith and trust in God, and work hard at the thing he has gifted me with, he will make sure that I am established in the thing he has called me to do. (That said a lot huh!). When we look at entertainers or actors, or corporate business people, you notice how much time they put into their craft. They build their networks, learn the newest policies and practices, and COMMIT themselves to doing whatever it takes to achieving their dream.

Well being a Chrisian and developing your gift is similar. If we spend time building, working, praying, and commiting ourselves to God first, and then our craft, God will establish us, and we will not have to struggle or worry about being taken care of. In  life, there will always be bumps and bruises in the road to success, but God has given us a promise that if we commit ourselves to him, his word, and developing our gifts HE will establish us. Isn’t that an awesome promise?

Yesterday, after a few years of working on a manuscript, getting it edited, and preparing it for the masses, I received my first book cover art! It is a joy to know that my hard work is paying off. I am enjoying the ride, and know that as long as I am continuing in honoring God and working my gift , my hard work is establishing itself, and bringing God Glory.

Check out my website for updates and upcoming events as well http://www.authordaranichole.com

About daranichole

Lover of Christ, Wife, mother, author, and entrepreneur! I have a heart for women!

Posted on April 25, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I don’t usually reply to posts but I will in this case, great info…I will bookmark your site. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

