Chapter 8 “She is, but he ain’t” (A short story by Dara Nichole)


Chapter 8

“Girl, that meeting was really nice, and there were a lot of cute guys there.” Jasmine turned into the gas station as we were leaving the networking event at the church.

“I know, I really did enjoy myself. I think I might go on Sunday.” I looked at Jasmine hoping she would agree to come with me.

“Tell me how that goes hun, I’ll be asleep.” She jumped out of the car and into the gas station to pay. Ever since I had decided to drop Joshua for good, I had this feeling on the inside of me. Something that wanted more out of life, something was pulling me toward God. I felt like I wanted to at least learn more about him. My life was slowly changing for the better, and It felt good.

“So you really gonna go to church this Sunday?” Jasmine looked at me like it was so rare to go to church on a Sunday. She pulled out of the gas station and headed towards my house.

“Jasmine, you act like I’m an atheist or something.” I buckled my seatbelt.

“I’m not sayin’ that, but the last time you was in church, was like, so long ago. Why all of a sudden now?”

“Jasmine, I haven’t been in a church since my dad died, not even for a Christmas, Easter, or New Years Service. It’s not like I don’t believe in God. And besides, the people seem cool. They don’t seem like they gonna be hollerin’ and screamin’ the whole service, and I may even enjoy it.” I looked out the window hoping that even if I didn’t learn anything, it would at least keep me busy, and not having to think about  Joshua.

“Girl you never know, I may even meet my future boo there.” I smile at Jasmine and she chuckled as we turned down my street. Just as she was about to pull into the driveway a car pulled up in front of my house and parked.

“Great, here we go again.” Jasmine looked at me, and I looked out the window.

“Brielle, I can take Joshua, you run in the house, and I’ll get out and talk to him.” Jasmine was ready to practically fight this dude, but that wasn’t going down tonight.

“Naw Jasmine, I got this.” We stepped out of the car just as Joshua did. I was expecting his angry demeanor to come across, but he was different tonight. He walked slowly up to us as we leaned against Jasmine’s car with our arms folded.

“Bri, baby, I can’t do this without you.” You could tell he had been crying. His eyes were bloodshot, and his facial expression was desperate.

“Baby, I need you. I can’t do life without you.  You mean so much to me, and I have taken you for granted. I feel so sick to my stomach thinking about all the things I have done to you. How I have degraded you, cheated, and lied. I can’t treat you like that anymore. I won’t allow myself to treat you like that. From the bottom of my heart, I’m sorry.”

“Good show Joshua, but we ain’t fallin’ for that sh-”

“Jasmine!” I yelled before she could finish her sentence.

“I can take it from here, ok. Thank you and goodnight.” I grabbed Joshua’s hand and walked him into the house. Usually Joshua would apologize, but never in four years was it like this. We walked inside and he sat on the couch looking at the ground and shaking his head. I stood up over him leaning on the mantle with my arms folded waiting for him to finish what he was saying.

“So, go on Joshua, what else do you have to say?” He looked up at me and his eyes were filled with tears.

“Abrielle, I don’t want to be with anyone else but you. I have made that decision in my heart. I love you. I’m committed to you. You mean everything and anything to me.” My eyes started to water and I slowly slid my back down the wall until I fell to the floor. I had wanted this commitment from him for so long.

“I’m done with the games baby. You have been through everything with me, and stuck by me. You are such a beautiful woman, and I can’t go through life without you. I would hate myself.” He got off the couch and sat down next to me. With tears in both of our eyes we slowly kissed each other, and hugged.

“Joshua,” I mumbled through the tears. “ I don’t know what to say right now” I scooted back from his embrace and he scooted closer to me.

“All you have to say is that you will love me, and try to make it work.” He put his hand on my knee and ran it down to my feet slowly caressing my leg. The words that were about to come out of my mouth were going to surprise and shock him, and even myself.  I slowly slid back up the wall and pulled him up with me. I was thinking of the best way to say what I had to say. I knew though, that what I was about to do, was going to change the rest of my life, as well as his.

“Baby, so what do you say?” I turned to him and said what I had wanted to say, for the last four years of our relationship.

About daranichole

Lover of Christ, Wife, mother, author, and entrepreneur! I have a heart for women!

Posted on February 19, 2010, in She is, but he ain't, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

