“She is, but he ain’t” Chapter 2


“ Is that your man?” Ellington looked at me confused. I really didn’t know how to answer that question.

“Not anymore he ain’t!” Jasmine stood up over me, and grabbed my arm.

“You need to go talk to him, he ain’t right, and you need to set his raggedy tail straight.”

What did I have to lose? I could go over there, embarrass him in front of his “Girl”, tell him off, and look like a woman scorn in front of the whole club, or I could sit here, with Ellington, hold all my feelings in, and cry when I got home. At least those were the two options to pop into my head at the moment.

“Jasmine, sit down, and Ellington, no, that is not my man. He’s not even important right now.” I smiled a flirty smile at Ellington hoping deep down that Joshua would see me laughing at all of Ellington’s corny jokes, and that he would watch me gently placing my hand on Ellington’s arm every time I wanted to flirt harder.

“Would you like to dance?” Ellington stood up and looked me in my eyes.

“Definitely.” He grabbed my hand and took me to the middle of the dance floor.  I Had to honestly admit, this evening was turning out to be a lot better than I expected. But why was I still thinking about Joshua? I wondered if he had seen me with Ellington, or if he even cared. Was he too drunk, or too engulfed in the whoremonger he brought with him to even notice that I was here?

“Umm, Abrielle, you good?  Ellington swayed toward me, grabbed my hands and twirled me around on the dance floor. Why was it so easy for him to bring a smile to my face?

“I’m good.”  I shimmied lightly toward him, and his eyes lit up. We were so cute together. My light caramel skin glistened under the lights, and as the beat began to slow down Ellington Grabbed my hands, turned me around and pulled me close. His skin was a smooth mocha color. I laid my head back on his chest and felt the stubble from his goatee. He was so fine, and this moment so had to be a dream.

“Ellington,” I turned myself around and he pulled me just a little toward him.

“Yes,” His eyes stared into mine and I had butterflies in my stomach. His light brown almond shaped eyes were too gorgeous.

“What do you do for a living? You never told me.” At this point, I was kinda nervous.  Usually men with good jobs are ready to blurt out what they do almost before they ask you what your name is. Maybe this was going to be the problem.

“Well, promise you won’t laugh.” By this time we were just two -stepping to the beat.

“I promise I won’t.”

“I am a writer of cards.” I looked at him totally baffled.

“What, um, is that Ellington?”

“Well, you know when you buy a Christmas card, a birthday card, or a “Just thinking of you card?”

“Yes,”

“I write those for a major company. That’s my full time job. Hey,where is your friend?” I had totally forgotten about Jasmine for like fifteen minutes.

“Oh, I don’t know, let me go see if she’s still at the table.” We walked over to the area where we were sitting, and low and behold, Jasmine was surrounded by two men dancing and having a good time.

“She’s good Ellington.” We snickered.

“That’s good, look Abrielle, I would really like to see you again, can I have your number?” We exchanged phone numbers, hugged and parted ways. Now I was ready to go home.

“Jasmine, hey girl, I’m ready.” I grabbed her from in between the two guys, grabbed her purse and pulled her toward the door.

“Bri, but what if I wasn’t ready, the party was just gettin’ started with Rico and Julio!” We laughed and started walking toward the car.

It was so cold outside, and by the time we got to the car my hands were freezing.

“So did you have a good time With Ellington?” Jasmine unlocked the doors, and slid her body into the cold front seat.

“Yes, he was so cute, and so sweet. So we will see how that goes.” We sat in the car for a minute to let it warm, and right when we were ready to pull out of the parking spot a black impala with tinted windows blocked us in.

“Who in the world is blocking us from leaving?” Jasmine looked nervous and angry at the same time.

“Girl, who else, Joshua.” I rolled my eyes as he got out of the driver’s seat with the car still running and walked over to my side of the car.

“Unlock the door Bri.” I looked at Jasmine and she folded her arms.

“Baby, who was that guy you was dancin’ with? You didn’t think I saw you, did you?” Baby, come talk to me.” Hearing the desperation in his voice softened my heart to what he was saying. I rolled down the window and he leaned in and smiled at me.

“Hey Bri-Bri, come take a ride with me.” I sat back and continued looking forward.

“Baby, that girl was my cousin. She wasn’t anybody.  You see I’m here with you right now. I got so much love for you. Come and take a ride with me.” I knew if I looked at him I would instantly melt. I couldn’t do this to myself again. Just four hours ago this man had me on my living room floor crying, and now I can’t imagine not being with him.

“Joshua, why didn’t you call me and tell me you weren’t going to make it tonight? You had me gettin’ dressed and waiting for you?” I put on my angriest face. I thought it was pretty convincing.

Joshua slowly reached in the car, unbuckled my seatbelt and kissed me on the cheek.

“Baby, with all my heart it will never happen again.”  Operation meltdown was in effect.

“Now, just come take a ride with me, so we can talk. Baby, you know I can’t be without you. It was a reason we was both here tonight. Now we can go somewhere and figure it out.” He slowly opened the door, grabbed my hand and walked me to his car. I couldn’t believe I was doing this.

“Jasmine, I’ll call you when I get home.” She rolled her eyes at me and shook her head.

“Just have him let me out, and Abrielle,”

“Yes, Jasmine.”

“He ain’t no good, and you know it. I don’t know why you’re wasting your time, but you grown. Call me in the morning.” Jasmine pulled off and I jumped in the passenger seat of Joshua’s impala.

About daranichole

Lover of Christ, Wife, mother, author, and entrepreneur! I have a heart for women!

Posted on February 7, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. D,

    You have me hooked! Why when I received the e-mail I was like YES!!! It’s up! Chapter 2!!!

    I can’t believe, yet I can believe that she went back to Joshua! Uhhh…

    Playing on Abrielle’s vulnerable state was great as well! Keep up the good work!

  2. Oh..Dara this is good…excited to read chapter 3 and on ward. Excellent Work!

Leave a Reply

